New Member Named for Georgia Pecan Commission

ATLANTA ? The Georgia Agricultural Commodity Commission for Pecans, also known as the Georgia Pecan Commission, has a new board member, Roy Goodson, Goodson Pecans, Leesburg.

Continuing to serve on the board are Mark Cook, Cook Pecan Company, Davisboro; Thomas L. Mason, Mason Pecans, Fort Valley; Richard Merritt, Merritt Pecan Co., Weston; and Lanair Worsham Jr., Worsham Farms, Camilla. Mason and Merritt serve as chairman and vice chairman, respectively.

The ex officio committee for the Georgia Agriculture Commodity Commissions recently met to vote for appointments to serve in the various state commissions, including the pecan commission. Appointed members of the commissions serve three-year terms and can be re-appointed for additional terms.

The Georgia Pecan Commission funds research, educational and promotional programs though its Center for Pecan Innovation in order to increase awareness and raise demand for Georgia pecans year-round.

Like Georgia?s other agriculture commodity commissions, the Georgia Pecan Commission was created by an act of the Georgia Legislature and collects assessments from pecan growers under the authority of farmer-approved market orders. More information is available at or on LinkedIn: Center for Pecan Innovation.

Board Members

Thomas L. Mason, Chairman

Mason Pecan

Fort Valley


Richard Merritt, Vice Chairman

Merritt Pecan Co.



Mark Cook

Cook Pecan Company



Roy Goodson

Goodson Pecans



Lanair Worsham Jr.

Worsham Farms

Ex-Officio Board Members

Gary W. Black

Georgia Commissioner of Agriculture


Vincent ?Zippy? Duvall

President, Georgia Farm Bureau


Buddy Leger



Russ Moon